The Official Portal for the State of Georgia

Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue
Georgia Seal

Four Additional Counties to Receive Federal Assistance from the Hurricane Ivan Disaster Declaration

Friday, October 15, 2004  Contact: Office of Communications 404-651-7774


Atlanta - Governor Sonny Perdue announced today that Georgia has received approval from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for adding four counties to a federal disaster declaration resulting from Hurricane Ivan.

Clayton and Forsyth counties have been approved for individual assistance. Public infrastructure assistance will also be provided to Pike and Upson counties. These additions make a total of 29 counties receiving assistance under the Ivan declaration.

“Eligible individuals and local governments in these counties will now have access to assistance that will help them on their way to recovery,” said Governor Sonny Perdue.

For more information on federal disaster assistance, visit FEMA’s website at or GEMA’s storm recovery website at