The Official Portal for the State of Georgia

Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue
Georgia Seal

Governor Perdue Announces Appointments to 911 Advisory Council

Wednesday, March 24, 2004  Contact: Office of Communications 404-651-7774


Atlanta - Governor Sonny Perdue announced today appointments to the 911 Advisory Council.

The 911 Advisory Council was created to develop guidelines for implementing a state-wide emergency telephone number "911" system. It is responsible for encouraging and promoting the planning, development, and implementation of local "911" system plans; promulgating rules and regulations to establish minimum standards relating to training and equipment; and maintaining the registry of wireless service suppliers.

Brief biographies are provided below.

Honorable Shirley Fanning Lasseter, 56, Duluth, GA, Municipal - Lasseter is currently the Mayor of the City of Duluth. She is past Marketing Director of The 1818 Club. Lasseter served as Vice President and Secretary of the Duluth Merchants Association, President of the Third District of the Georgia Municipal Association, and past President of the Duluth Kiwanis Club. She received her undergraduate degree from Brenau College for Women and a master's degree from Georgia State University. Lasseter and her husband, Joe, have four children.

Dr. Esco Hall, Jr., 56, Baxley, GA, Municipal - Hall currently serves on the City Council of the City of Baxley. He is owner and operator of Appling Animal Hospital and Baxley Funeral Home. Hall has served as President of the Appling County Branch NAACP and the Progressive Club. He received the 100 Black Men of Southeast Georgia Warriors Award in 2003 and is a member of the American Veterinary Medical Association and Appling County Development Authority. Hall received his undergraduate degree from Fort Valley State University and a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from the University of Georgia.

Kenneth Vance, 50, Milledgeville, GA, Municipal - Vance is currently the Director of Public Safety and University Police Chief for Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville, Georgia. He is past Deputy Sheriff for the Baldwin County Sheriff's Department and for Milledgeville, Georgia. Vance is presently serving as Councilman for the City of Milledgeville and was awarded the Alex K. Johnson Award by the Georgia Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administration. He received an undergraduate degree from Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville. Vance and his wife, Carol, have two children.

Gary Harrell, 32, Camilla, GA, MGMT - Harrell is currently the Director of Mitchell County Emergency 911. He previously served as Deputy EMA Director for Mitchell County Emergency 911 as well as Chief Criminal Investigator for the Mitchell County Sheriff's Office. Harrell also served in the Georgia Army National Guard and at the Pelham Police Department. He is involved with the Association of Professional Communications Officers and the National Emergency Number Association. Harrell graduated from the Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College Police Academy in Tifton, Georgia. He and his wife, Shawn, have two children.

Don Ash, 37, Jonesboro, GA, MGMT - Ash is currently the Emergency Communications Director for Henry County Emergency Communications. He is a member of the Georgia National Emergency Number Association, the Region 7 All Hazards Council, and the Georgia Associated Public Safety Communications Officers. Ash is a graduate of ARC Management and is a Georgia Post Certified Instructor. He has two children.

Ronnie H. McQuaig, 65, Waycross, GA, MGMT - McQuaig is currently the Sheriff of Ware County. He is a past Waycross Exchange Club Law Enforcement Officer Nominee and received the 2000 Georgia Sheriff's Association/Youth Home Achievement Award. McQuaig is a member of the Exchange Club of Waycross and the Georgia Sheriff's Association. He is a graduate of the Georgia State Patrol Academy and the Georgia Sheriff's Academy. He and his wife, Joann, have four children.

Donald L. Seabolt, 55, Dahlonega, GA, MGMT - Seabolt is presently the Emergency Services Director for Lumpkin County. He is a certified Paramedic, past Chairman of the Regions 2 EMS Council, and past President of the Emergency Management Association of Georgia. Seabolt received the Governor's Emergency Management Agency Public Safety Award. He received his Emergency Management Masters Certification and is a registered Communications Officer. Seabolt has one child.

Charlotte Nash, 51, Dacula, GA, County - Nash has served Gwinnett County for over 26 years. She has held several positions such as County Administrator, Budget Manager and Director of Financial Services. Previously, Nash worked as an accountant with the Georgia Department of Human Resources. She is an alumnus of Leadership Gwinnett and is active with the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia, the Regional Leadership Foundation, and serves on the Advisory Committee for the Georgia University Center at Gwinnett. Nash received a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Georgia. She and her husband, Michael, have two children.

India L. Taylor, 67, Colquitt, GA, County - Taylor is currently the District 4 Miller County Commissioner. She has served as Chamber of Commerce Executive Director for Colquitt and Miller County. Taylor serves on the board of the Southwest Georgia Regional Development Center and the Miller County Board of Health. She is a member of the Georgia Economic Developers Association and the Association of County Commissioners. Taylor has three children and five grandchildren.

Larry Thomson, 60, Perry, GA, County - Thomson is currently serving as Houston County Commissioner. He is the past Building Official Secretary to the Houston County Planning and Zoning Appeals Board. Thomson also served as a police officer in Cartersville, Georgia, and is a member of the Warner Robins Chamber of Commerce. He and his wife, Christine, have two children.