

THE STATE OF GEORGIA

EXECUTIVE ORDER

BY THE GOVERNOR:

WHEREAS: The 2007 Commission For a New Georgia Service Delivery Task Force

developed recommendations to enhance state service delivery at the

regional level;

WHEREAS: The Commission For a New Georgia approved the recommendations of the

Service Delivery Task Force;

WHEREAS: House Bill 1216, passed during the 2008 session of the General Assembly

and signed into law on May 6, 2008, was drafted by the Department of Community Affairs to include many of the recommendations of the Service

Delivery Task Force;

WHEREAS: The Service Delivery Task Force also recommended the creation of the

Commission on Regional Planning to improve intergovernmental

cooperation; and

WHEREAS: It is my desire to implement the recommendations of the Commission For

a New Georgia Service Delivery Task Force.

NOW, THEREFORE, PURSUANT TO THE AUTHORITY VESTED

IN ME AS GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA, IT IS

HEREBY

Ordered: That the Commission on Regional Planning is created effective July 1,

2009, to provide intergovernmental cooperation consistent with the goals

of the Commission For a New Georgia Service Delivery Task Force;

IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED:

That the purpose of the Commission on Regional Planning is to coordinate state contract terms, identify appropriate state and federal funding for the pursuit of shared service delivery goals, coordinate planning of state and federal resource allocation and state service delivery, and identify issues and opportunities requiring state, regional, or local action.

IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED:

That the Commission on Regional Planning shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of the following members:

- the Governor;
- the Chairperson of each Council governing each Regional Commission as defined in section 50-8-31 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated;
- the President or Executive Director of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia;
- the President or Executive Director of the Georgia Municipal Association:
- the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs;
- the Commissioner of the Department of Economic Development;
- the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources;
- the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources;
- the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation;
- the Director of the Environmental Protection Division;
- the Director of the Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority;
- a designee of the Lieutenant Governor; and
- a designee of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED:

That the Governor will serve as Chairperson of the Commission on Regional Planning and the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs will serve as Executive Director of the Commission on Regional Planning. The chairperson of the appropriate oversight committees of the Georgia Senate and House of Representatives, as determined by the Lieutenant Governor and Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively, may serve as ex-officio non-voting members of the Commission on Regional Planning.

IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED:

That each executive director of each Regional Commission established pursuant to Article 2 of Chapter 8 of Title 50 of the Official Code of

Georgia Annotated will act as an advisor to the Commission on Regional Planning.

This <u>H</u>day of January, 2009.

Jany Kudence Governor