Click to print Close window
Georgia Seal

Governor Perdue Appoints Latino and Asian-American Commissions

Thursday, July 24, 2003  Contact: Office of Communications 404-651-7774


Atlanta - Governor Sonny Perdue signed today two executive orders creating the Latino Commission for a New Georgia and the Asian-American Commission for a New Georgia. The mission of each Commission is to serve as an advisory body to coordinate between the Governor's Office, other state government agencies and the private sector as they relate to Latino and Asian affairs and initiatives.

"The Georgia family of today includes citizens from many diverse cultures and backgrounds. Our diversity is a source of strength for this state, both nationally and internationally," said Governor Sonny Perdue. "I look forward to working with each member of these two commissions and the communities they represent. We will work together for the good of Georgia and all the people who make this a great place to live and call home."

Both Commissions will be instrumental throughout the state working with local governments, community organizations, and private business. The Commissions will play an important advisory function for economic development to lure international companies to conduct business and create jobs and to help develop minority owned small businesses throughout the state. The Commissions will also serve a consulting role in policy development on multiple issues, including education, healthcare, and economic opportunity. The Latino Commission will specifically play a key role in the state's efforts to bring the Secretariat of the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) to Atlanta. Additionally, both Commissions will help the state prepare to host the Group of Eight (G-8) Summit next June in Sea Island.

The following are members of the Latino Commission for a New Georgia:

  • Vernadette Ramirez Broyles, Norcross, GA
  • Charles Asensio, Atlanta, GA
  • Mario Martinez, Alpharetta, GA
  • Anna Cablik, Marietta, GA
  • Sora McFarlane, Atlanta, GA
  • Sara Gonzalez, Atlanta, GA
  • Maritza Pichon, Atlanta, GA
  • Nuby Fowler, Atlanta, GA
  • Rudy Bessera, Atlanta, GA
  • Mario Arguello, Flowery Branch, GA
  • Gilbert Esparza, Dalton, GA
  • Alex Salgueiro, Savannah, GA
  • Luz Marti, Tifton, GA
  • Jorge Romero, Rome, GA
  • Jose Perez, Norcross, GA
  • Jorge Forment, Woodstock, GA
  • Venus Gines, Marietta, GA
  • Jaqueline Rosier, Duluth, GA

The following are members of the Asian-American Commission for a New Georgia:

  • Ritesh "Rick" Desai, Lawrenceville, GA
  • Jay K. Eun, Dunwoody, GA
  • Quyen Kiet, Chamblee, GA
  • Sachi Koto, Altanta, GA
  • Yung Krall, Snellville, GA
  • Thomas Lee, Marietta, GA
  • Byung J. Pak, Norcross, GA
  • Nancy Quan-Sellers, Stone Mountain, GA
  • Dr. Manoj H. Shah, Warner Robins, GA
  • Dr. Josephine Tan, Roswell, GA
  • Kenneth Suddeth, Columbus, GA
  • Willee Bonus, Norcross, GA
  • Dr. Krishna Mohan, Riverdale, GA
  • Bharath Shah, Atlanta, GA
  • Lani Wong, Dunwoody, GA
  • Dr. Sue-ling Wang, Norcross, GA
  • Bao Ky Vu, Atlanta, GA, Ex-officio member
  • Sunny K. Park, Atlanta, GA, Ex-officio member