Click to print Close window
Georgia Seal

Governor Perdue Awards 12 for Acts of Heroism in Public Safety

Wednesday, October 26, 2005  Contact: Office of Communications 404-651-7774

Annual Public Safety Awards Ceremony Honors Georgia Heroes

FORSYTH, GA - Today Governor Sonny Perdue announced the recipients of the Governor’s Public Safety Awards (GPSA) at a ceremony in Forsyth, Georgia, recognizing 12 public safety professionals from across Georgia for acts of heroism. The recipients were given medallions and their names were added to the GPSA monument at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC).

The annual GPSA program began in 1998 to recognize the outstanding accomplishments and commitment of Georgia’s public safety community.

“In this post-September 11 world, we ask more of our law enforcement and emergency responders than ever before,” said Governor Sonny Perdue. “These individual stories of sacrifice show us what real heroes are made of.”

“We are honored to have the opportunity to pay tribute to Georgia’s public safety professionals who risk their lives daily and sacrifice time away from their families to protect our citizens,” said J. Dale Mann, GPSA Committee Chairman and Director of the Georgia Public Safety Training Center.

The GPSA program recognizes public safety professionals in the following two categories:

  • Act of Heroism – Recognizes those who performed an exceptional deed which resulted in saving lives and/or protecting property.
  • Outstanding Contribution which Enhanced the Profession – Job performance which had an overwhelming positive affect on the overall profession.

Personnel from each discipline of public safety as well as state employees with public safety authority were eligible to receive the award. Nominations were submitted by local governments, state agencies, associations, police departments, sheriff’s offices, correctional facilities, fire departments, 9-1-1 communications, emergency medical services, and emergency management agencies.

Recipients of the 2005 Governor’s Public Safety Awards are as follows:

  • O. J. Concepcion – Police Officer – DeKalb County Police Department
  • Thomas J. Crawford, III - Special Agent - Georgia Bureau of Investigation
  • Michael D. DeWald – Police Officer – DeKalb County Police Department
  • Beth Gatny – Patrol Officer – Acworth Police Department
  • Brian E. Johnston – Special Agent – Georgia Bureau of Investigation
  • Doug Mattox – Sergeant – Gwinnett County Police Department
  • Michael P. McKeithan – Sergeant – Gwinnett County Police Department
  • Kevin Moran – Lieutenant – Gwinnett County Police Department
  • Mary L. Price – Correctional Officer II – Georgia Department of Corrections
  • Laila Sabree – Police Officer – Atlanta Police Department
  • Jerry Stancel – Sergeant – Gwinnett County Police Department
  • Blake Thompson – Director/Paramedic – Wilkes County EMS

All of this year’s recipients were honored for acts of heroism. For background information on recipients, visit the GPSTC website at