Click to print Close window
Georgia Seal

Governor Perdue Declares State of Emergency for Five Counties

Tuesday, April 5, 2005  Contact: Office of Communications 404-651-7774


ATLANTA, GA - Governor Sonny Perdue issued a revised Executive Order on Monday, April 4, 2005, declaring a State of Emergency for an additional five counties impacted  by a severe weather system that generated torrential rainfall throughout Georgia beginning Easter weekend.  The amended emergency declaration covers Clay, Lee, Quitman, Randolph, and Dooly counties, and allows state resources to be used to assist these local governments.

        Seven counties were originally declared as emergencies on March 30, 2005 including Candler, Crisp, Dodge, Emanuel, Marion, Stewart, and Sumter counties.  Yesterday, Governor Perdue added five.  The State of Emergency in all 12 counties will continue in force through midnight, April 8, 2005.

        “We remain fortunate that no lives have been lost or serious injuries reported as a result of the severe weather and localized flooding, but there has been considerable damage, especially to roads,” said Governor Perdue.   “We are continuing to do what we can to assist those counties that do not have the capabilities to handle extensive, heavy repairs.”

        Governor Perdue noted that the Georgia Department of Transportation (DOT) continues to evaluate damages and to coordinate assistance with local road supervisors in the affected counties.   In addition, the Georgia Office of Homeland Security-Georgia Emergency Management Agency (OHS-GEMA) and the National Weather Service’s Southeast River

Forecast Center continue to monitor rivers in the Flint and Ocmulgee River Basins for potential flooding problems.
        GEMA is the lead state agency for coordination of emergency and disaster response activities.  For additional emergency information and updates, contact GEMA at 1-800-TRY-GEMA (1-800-879-4362) or visit the Web site at

Executive Order

WHEREAS:  On March 26, 2005 a weather system with torrential downpours and severe thunderstorms moved through the State of Georgia, exacerbating flooding in the following counties: Candler, Crisp, Dodge, Emanuel, Marion, Stewart and Sumter.  Rivers are continuing to rise and overflowing the banks; such flooding is forecast to continue.

WHEREAS:  The State of Emergency is hereby amended to include the following counties: Clay, Lee, Quitman, Randolph and Dooly.

WHEREAS:  Said heavy rains and flooding has caused major destruction and damage to roads, bridges, culverts and other public and private properties in the above-mentioned counties.  

WHEREAS:  The assistance of the government of the State of Georgia is necessary to protect the public health, preserve the safety of the public, keep property damage to a minimum, and to restore the social and economic welfare of the citizens in the above-mentioned counties. 

WHEREAS:  In light of these circumstances and in conjunction with the authority vested in the Governor by virtue of Article 3, Section 38-3-51, of the Georgia Emergency Management Act of 1981, as amended to promulgate reasonable orders, rules and regulations as are deemed necessary to protect public health, safety and welfare, and to bring the emergency situation under control within the acknowledged limitations of the powers of the Governor;


ORDERED:  That a State of Emergency exists in above mentioned counties for a period of ten days until the midnight on April 8, 2005 and that personnel and equipment resources of the State of Georgia be made available to assist in the response and recovery activities currently begin undertaken in the above mentioned counties, and that the Georgia Emergency Management Agency activate the Georgia Emergency Operations Plan.

ORDERED:  This 29th day of March, 2005.


(signed Governor Sonny Perdue)